Library Programs: Cool Activities for Long, Hot Days

Day Trip Texas: Ham Orchards
May 16, 2016
Fredericksburg: Wine Road 290
May 16, 2016

Compiled By Liz Heidelberg

Bryan/College Station libraries offer summer fun for all ages. George Bush Library and Museum, Clara B. Mounce Public Library in Bryan, and Larry J. Ringer Public Library in College Station have reading programs and free events all summer long. For more information, visit www.bush41.org or www.bcslibrary.org

George Bush Library And Museum
Thurs, May 19 Lyzander Lion and Bitsey Bull
Fri, May 20 Movies by the Pond: “Cars”
Fri, June 10 Bush Birthday Celebration
Thurs, June 16 Community Celebration of Juneteenth
Fri, June 17 Movies by the Pond: “The Game Plan”
Daily, Mon, July 11 through Fri, August 12 “Transportation: Riding, Driving, & Flying Into the Future” Day Camp

Clara B. Mounce Library
Located at 201 E 26th Street in Bryan

LibraryparachuteMOUNCE CHILDREN’S EVENTS:
Fri, June 3 Hometown Heroes & Big Rigs
Sat, June 4 Motorcycles with Jericho Riders
Wed, June 8 Animal Day!
Wed, June 15 Elizabeth Kahura/ Juneteenth
Wed, June 22 Zoofari/Exotic Animals
Thurs, June 23 Southwest Mobile Dairy Cow
Sat, June 25 Ice Cream from Neptune!
Wed, June 29 Domino’s Dough Show
Wed, July 6 Snakes Alive!
Sat, July 9 Paradise Farm Animal show
Wed, July 13 Texas A&M Chemistry Road Show
Wed, July 20 Texas A&M Physics Show
Wed, July 27 Brett Roberts/Magician

MOUNCE STORYTIMES AND SUMMER BOOK TALK:
Thursday Mornings June 2 – July 28 Babies (infant – 2) 10:15am.
Ready 2 Read (Ages 3 & up) 10:45am.
Tuesdays June 7- July 26 Book Talk! (Elementary) 3pm.

This year, Mounce Library is hosting a new family program called “Ice Cream from Neptune”. Dr. Jim Pennington of the Texas A&M Chemistry Road Show will be on hand to teach kids how to create ice cream with liquid nitrogen – an ice cream social that is “out of this world.”

Mounce’s Children Summer Reading Club! Ages 5 to 11 are encouraged to pick up a game board from the library and pledge to read for at least 30 days throughout the summer. For each day any reading is done, color in a space on the game board. When all the spaces on the game board are filled in, take the game board to the library and receive a brand new book. There is also a midway prize when the child fills in half of the spaces.

MOUNCE TEEN/TWEEN EVENTS:
Thurs, June 9 Chips & Dip Book Swap 3-5pm
Thurs, June 16 Chemistry Road Show for Teens 3-5pm
Thurs, June 23 Shuffle with the BV Bombers 3-5pm
Thurs, June 30 Recipe Pro Demo 3-5pm
Thurs, July 14 Cake Pops R Wicked 3-5pm
Thurs, July 21 Game Day Unplugged 3-5pm
Thurs, July 28 Fun for Foodies 3-5pm

Larry J. Ringer Library
Located at 1818 Harvey Mitchell Parkway, College Station

RINGER CHILDREN’S EVENTS:Library literacystartsSat, June 4 Big Rigs/Sports
Tues, June 7 Epic Entertainment/Fun Action
Tues, June 14 Safari with Elizabeth Kahura
Tues, June 21 Animal Day
Tues, June 28 Positive Repercussions/ Music
Tues, July 5 Texas A&M Chemistry Road Show
Fri, July 8 Go Van Goghs (Ages 5 and under)
Tues, July 12 Jurassic Library/ Dinosaurs/Puppets
Sat, July 16 Be the Next Bill Nye the Science Guy
Tues, July 19 Texas A&M Physics Show
Tues, July 26 Texas A&M Treasure Hunt
Sat, July 30 Reptile Hospice & KnK Reptile Rescue
Tues, Aug 2 Domino’s Dough Show (must register)

RINGER STORYTIMES AND SUMMER BOOK CLUB:
Mondays June 6- July 25 Wiggle Worms – babies & toddlers 9:30am & 10:30am
Wednesdays June 8- July 27 toddlers (ages 2-3) 10am/family (all ages) 11am
Thursdays June 9- July 28 Babies and Books – newborns & crawlers 9:15am

RINGER TEEN/TWEEN EVENTS:
Fri, June 3 Ice Cream Social and Book Swap 12:30-1:30pm
Fri, June 10 Imagication 2-4pm
Sat, June 18 1-5pm
Mon, June 20 Late Night @ the Library 7-11pm
Mon, June 27 Mud Wars 6-8pm
Sat, July 9 Painting Yourself 2-4pm
Mon, July 11 If You Give a Teen A Cookie 6-8pm
Fri, July 15 Without Music, Life Would b Flat 2-4pm
Mon, July 18 Around the Year in 80 Minutes 6-8pm
Thurs, July 7 Hour of Code 4:30-6:30pm
Sat, Aug 27 Tween Back to School Party 1:30-2:30pm

Teens Publish – Creative Writing & Illustrating at Larry J. Ringer Library for 7th-12th grade. Registration is required. For more information or to register, contact Kendra at kperkins@bryantx.gov or (979) 764-3416.

Mon, July 25, from 7:30-9:30pm Pool Party! Teens and tweens who attend at least two teen programs at either Clara B. Mounce or Larry J. Ringer Libraries are eligible to attend a free pool party at Adamson Lagoon. For details or to register, call Kendra at (979) 764-3416.

Books And A Blanket
Have extra children’s books lying around? Books and a Blanket would love for you to donate! This summer, Books and a Blanket will be focusing their efforts on giving books to the Brazos Valley Food Bank, Voices for Children, and two laundromats in the area to encourage reading while parents are doing laundry. Books and a Blanket was started in the Brazos Valley by Maggie and Harper, two sisters who are avid readers with giving hearts. The purpose of Books and a Blanket is to promote literacy among young students in need. This year, Harper and Maggie received the 2016 Ronnie Jackson Friends of Children Award and a Bush Point of Light Award.